Whole Wheat Arugula Pesto With Prosciutto and Mozzarella Pizza

As I have anxiously awaited this day when I felt confident and ready, to start my own blog, I have journaled different topics to discuss, how to word my thoughts… but of course, at this moment… I don’t know what to write.
My “Food Blog” bookmark on my MAC houses my food idols: culinary chefs, kitchen chefs, bakers, dorm chefs, chefs with no training, just trial and error. My ideal Saturday is sitting on my couch with my mug of black coffee, the Today Show, and my IPad, looking at each blog, one after the other marveling over the beautiful pictures and the delicious food.
It is with sheer excitement that I share my first blog post on Just a Bite. This pizza was to die for. I wish I didn’t cook for one, because this pizza was meant to be shared. I am a self taught cook- not at the chef status… have not mastered that level. From the wise words of Julia Child, “You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces — just good food from fresh ingredients.” Bon Appetit!


Adapted from Cookie and Kate

Ingredients
  • One batch of whole wheat pizza dough
  • Olive Oil in a small bowl (about 2 tbsp)
  • 2/3 cup arugula pesto- recipe to be posted
  • 4 oz fresh mozzarella cheese sliced (half of mozzarella ball)
  • 3 cups of baby arugula
  • 6 pieces of prosciutto
  • 1/2 lemon- juice + zest
  • Ground black pepper
Instructions
  1. Prepare the pizza dough (homemade or store bought). With this batch, I made homemade whole wheat dough- recipe will be posted soon.
  2. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.
  3. I used a cookie sheet- but a cast iron skillet (distributes heat better), pizza stone, or cookie sheet will work fine. Divide the dough in half and roll the dough insuring the dough is still thick enough not to rip (but you are going for a thin crust style pizza). Grease cookie sheet with a small amount of olive oil. Transfer the dough onto the greased cookie sheet.
  4. Spread the dough onto the cookie sheet and brush the dough with some olive oil.
  5. Top the dough with pesto sauce- spread evenly (any sauce will work fine- red, olive oil base, etc…) Top with mozzarella slices. Bake for 10 minutes or so, until the cheese is bubbling on top.
  6. Remove from the oven and transfer to a cutting board using a big spatula. Give it a few minutes to rest, then top with arugula, prosciutto, lemon juice and zest. Slice and sprinkle pizza with black pepper.

2 comments

  1. So glad you loved the pizza! Arugula is the best pizza topping ever, in my opinion, and prosciutto goes with it so nicely!

    1. Thanks Kate! I am a big fan of your blog… finally starting my own! Keep up the delicious recipes and beautiful pictures!

Leave a Reply

