Mother’s Day French Toast

Mary Engelbreit- Comic Relief for Walmart c/o American Greetings

Today is Mother’s Day! This post is dedicated to my mom, Carrie! She is terrific and has had an extra stressful year… she took on dual roles, staying Mom to my sisters and I, but also being the primary caretake for GT. She is my twin…we would be rich if we collected $.50 every time someone commented on how much we look alike… right, Mom?

My Mom and I- circa 1989

November, 2011

As we are spending our Mother’s Day via skype- I wanted to make something extra special for her! When I was brainstorming what food I would dedicate to her… brunch came to my mind. I have made versions of this french toast numerous times with different bread and milk combinations. This time I tried Challah bread from the Decatur Farmers Market… it was so fresh and delicious! As my mother and I are trying to watch our figures, I opted for skim milk instead of heavy cream… not to worry, flavor was not lost, just the fat and calories. My Mom’s secret ingredient is coffee- she learned this from her Mom. Just using a few tablespoons that are left over from the morning pot. She uses coffee in her cake frosting recipe- great flavor boost!

Ingredients:

3 egg yolks

2 tbsp brewed coffee

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup skim milk

zest of half a lemon (about 1 tbsp)

Challah Bread (day old)

4 anise stars (because my Mother loves anise!)

Cinnamon Sugar Topping Ingredients:

1 1/2 tbsp melted butter

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp sugar

Directions:

(makes 2.5 servings)

1. Cut the Challah (or bread of choice- french works great too). Day old bread helps create some crunch to your french toast. Cut the bread into 1 inch wide slices (I made 5 pieces)- set aside

2. Mix the batter together: milk, vanilla, lemon zest, coffee, egg yolks, and anise stars.

3. Mix together the sugar and cinnamon for the sugar topping on a large plate.

4. Melt the butter.

5. Using a food brush, lightly brush the butter on both sides of the bread. Then dunk the bread in the cinnamon sugar plate- making sure to get both sides coated.

6. Grease a baking pan (I just used some left over butter).

7. Pour half of the milk batter into the bottom of the pan, align the bread on the batter, and pour the remaining batter on top of the bread.

8. Cover and refrigerate for up to 12 hours (I keep mine in the fridge overnight so all the batter is soaked into the bread).

9. Grease a frying pan. Set stove on medium heat and cook the slices until golden brown on each side and the bread is not as mushy (the eggs form and give the bread its shape)

10. Top with berries of choice, powder sugar, and true Canadian Maple Syrup. (I used honey on mine!) and serve with a large cup of coffee!

Mom- enjoy your day! You deserve it. Thank you for always being a phone call away- you make me feel like I am only a backyard away! I miss you and hope that one day I can be the mother you are! All my love- xoxo Lauren.

Leave a Reply

