Whole Wheat Pita Bread

The past two weeks have been super hectic! I work in the consumer goods business and we are a holiday driven industry. Needless to say I came off a work high from Mother’s Day and we are full swing ahead for Father’s Day. Last week I needed a break, and spent two beautiful hours making bread- I felt so much better. When I cook, I forget anything else that is going on in my life… it is just me, my kitchen, my pantry, and my camera ready to do our thang.

I have been dabbling in the bread department. For the Super Bowl I made homemade pretzel dogs (yum.) Because I go in and out of stock rooms, I have become extremely aware of expiration dates and how people die before food goes bad… how come baby food doesn’t expire for 2 years? Sketchy… Anyway, pre-packaged bread ingredients make me nervous because I do not know what half of them mean… so I am taking matters in my own hands and making my own!

These whole wheat pita’s are great. They are better toasted and freeze beautifully (for all those living by themselves). The recipe I used made very large pita’s, I made the size of the pita’s smaller and they turned out to be 100 calorie pita slims.

I made a fabulous mozzarella and basil salad sandwich. I toasted the pitas, added a slice of mozzarella, roasted eggplant, basil, and drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette. For breakfast I topped with bread with peanut butter and blackberries- yum.

Whole Wheat Pita Breads c/o Cooking With Directions

Ingredients:

2¼ tsp. instant yeast
1 tbsp. honey
1¼ cups warm water, divided
1½ cups bread flour, divided
1½ cups whole wheat flour, divided
¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 tsp. salt

Directions:

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the yeast, honey and ½ cup warm water.  Stir gently to blend.  Whisk ¼ cup of the bread flour and ¼ cup of the whole wheat flour into the yeast mixture until smooth.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Set bowl in a warm spot (I put it on top of my oven and set the oven to 200 degrees). It should take about 45 minutes before the dough is bubbly.

2. Remove the plastic wrap and return the bowl to the mixer stand, fitted with the dough hook.  Add in the remaining ¾ cup of warm water, 1¼ cups bread flour, 1¼ cups whole wheat flour, olive oil and salt.  Knead on low speed until the dough is smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes-I just let the mixer spin on speed 2.  I transfer the ball of dough onto a lightly floured surface and clean out the mixing bowl and lightly coat with oil. Let rise in a warm draft-free place, about 1 hour, until doubled in bulk.

3. Place an oven rack in the middle position- place a wired cooling rack on the middle oven rack.  Preheat to 500˚ F. Once the dough has risen, transfer to a lightly floured work surface, punch down the dough and divide into 8-12 equal pieces (depending on your size preference).  Form each piece into a ball.  Flatten one ball at a time into a disk, then stretch out into a 6½-7 inch circle.  Transfer the rounds to a baking sheet or other work surface lightly sprinkled with cornmeal (or flour).  Once all the rounds have been shaped, loosely cover with clean kitchen towels.  Let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes, until slightly puffy.

4. Transfer 3 pitas, onto the baking surface. (I place mine on the wire cooling rack.) Bake 2 minutes, until puffed and pale golden.  Gently flip the pitas over using tongs and bake 1 minute more.  Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool completely.  Repeat with the remaining pitas.  Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days- freeze any left overs.

I was trying to take some shots in my apartment… the way my kitchen is set up, it is in a cubby with no natural light, so I end up taking my cooking masterpieces on the patio. This should be an ad for Kitchen Aid?? Right?

Enjoy the pitas! Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

