Crumbly Blueberry Muffins

So… it is already Sunday. How does that happen? I had quite the weekend- Saturday was a pool day with my Atlanta girlfriends, we then headed over to the Virginia Highlands Summer Fest. It is so crazy, it has almost been a year since I moved down to Atlanta and I finally feel like Atlanta is home for me. Moving to a new city not knowing anyone has been the toughest yet most rewarding experience. I had a lot of lonely nights- taking long walks and watching WAY (I repeat… WAY) to much TV. I met such a nice group of girls down in Atlanta who have taken me in as part of the group. I spent all day Saturday with them, and they make me feel like I am right back in St. Louis with my high school girlfriends. A great time.

Today I woke up, hung over… tear- my college drinking days are so over. I met another good girlfriend of mine and we walked around Chastain Park and went to Treehouse in Peachtree Battle for brunch. Anytime I go out with Amanda we just talk… for a long time, and it makes me very happy! She is so wise and motivated- she inspires me, and I love it!

Anyway, this post is about muffins… not my life. I am always testing a new muffin recipe because I love muffins, especially Starbuck’s blueberry muffins (until I went to New York where they post the calories… then I cried, “really 600 calories?!?”) I love Joy the  Baker– I read her blog daily and she is for sure a virtual friend of mine. I purchased her cookbook and saw she had a blueberry muffin with a crumbly top. I was determined to try it- and cut some of the fat and calories out… I was successful. These muffins were delicious… so good that my lovely Mark… was caught… red handed- eating 3 of these at 3 am. To each their own : )

Crumbly Blueberry Muffins

Adapted from Joy the Baker Cookbook Browned Butter Blueberry Muffins:

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

3 tablespoons apple sauce

1/3 cup skim milk

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups fresh blueberries

Topping:

2 tablespoons butter

1/3 cup all purpose flour

3 tablespoons sugar

Directions:

1. Put a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Spray muffin tray with nonstick cooking spray, or line with muffin liners. I use silipat muffin liners.

2. Melt butter in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Keep an eye on the butter.  Melt and cook down the butter until little brown bits appear in the pan. The butter will start to crackle. The butter starts to brown quickly… I took mine off at a tan brown color.  But again, make sure to keep your eye on the butter.

3. In a stand mixer combine together the milk, egg, yolk and vanilla until combined.  Add the brown butter and stir to combine. I forgot to add lemon zest this time, but lemon juice and zest add a great touch to blueberry muffins.

4. In a medium bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add the dry ingredients into the milk and butter mixture all at one and combine.

5. Fold in the blueberries- I use a spatula and do not use the stand mixer to combine.

6. Divide the batter among muffin cups and spread evenly.

To make the topping:

7. I grate the butter- this helps to make it easier to work into the flour and sugar. In a bowl and rub together with your fingertips until crumbly.  Sprinkle evenly over the batter in the cups.

8. Bake until golden and crisp and a wooden pick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes.  Let it muffins sit in the pan for about 15 minutes.

Enjoy these muffins warm- with a large coffee!

2 comments

  1. Can you make these in the mini muffin tins? If so, what should the bake time be? I also assume you used unsweetened apple sauce, correct?

    1. Laura,

      Yes- I used unsweetened apple sauce. Mini muffins are great! I would recommend baking for 13 minutes- pulling them out and sticking a toothpick in the center, if it pulls out clean- they are done, if it still has dough stuck on it, put them back in for about 3 minutes at a time. Because the pans are going to be smaller- you do not want to over cook the muffins… because they are best when they are still moist!

      Enjoy!!

      Let me know how they turn out- and if you recommend any other spices/combinations!
      Lauren

Leave a Reply

