Callie’s Peach Tart

It is my baby sister’s 19th birthday today!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MS. CALLIE ANNE! As she is home, in St. Louis celebrating with my family, I am here in Atlanta, celebrating virtually! I am so proud of Callie… she just graduated high school and is off to do great things with her life- first, getting into SLU’s nursing program! So, Callie… this post, is dedicated to you.

It is summer in Atlanta and I wanted to make something sweet, yet incorporate our state motto- peaches! I was very disappointed to find that Trader Joes only sold California peaches… should be outlawed in the Peach State. This desert was a working in my head… honestly, the only thing I could think of today throughout work: What I was going to add to my sugar cookie/tart base. Nuts or no nuts? Cinnamon? Icing? Ice-cream? I was daydreaming ingredients- so dorky, Lauren, so dorky.

I decided on a sugar cookie base- baked in a mini tart pan, with a maple icing, topped with roasted peaches and pistachios along side fresh whipped cream. I made 3 of these cookies- 1 for pictures, 2 to test to make sure my creation actually tasted decent, and 3rd to save for the future… aka: dinner tonight? As I am the first to admit, I struggle with baking… like, seriously struggle. BUT- a table was turned today… and these peach tarts were heavenly. The peaches added a refreshing and sweet fruit burst. Yum.

Sugar Cookie adapted from: Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole Large Egg
  • 1/2 cup Canola Oil
  • 1 sticks Butter, Softened
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup sifted Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups sifted All-purpose Flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  1. In a large stand mixer, cream together egg, oil, butter, sugars, and vanilla.
  2. Sift flour into wet ingredients. Add the baking powder.
  3. Cover and refrigerate dough for up to one hour.
  4. Once dough is chilled- preheat oven to 350.
  5. I used greased (with butter) mini tart pans: scoop about 2 tbsp worth of dough and flatten along the bottom of the pan and form up the sides- not all the way up the sides, about half way. If you just want to make plain sugar cookies- take a cookie scoop and roll into a ball placing on a baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes. I checked mine at 8 minutes and then baked them for 2 more minutes. Make sure not to burn!
  7. Let either cookies or mini tart pans cool. Flip tart pan upside down, so sugar cookie comes out.

Maple Icing:

This icing is a mix of GT’s with a few new twists. Enjoy. Play with the amount of milk you add- depending on how thick or thin you prefer the consistency of your icing.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp melted butter
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp coffee (from the morning brew- does not need to be fresh)
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • milk- for consistency (I used about 2 tbsp)

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together using a hand mixer. The coffee helps cut the sweetness of the icing- being a powdered sugar base with maple syrup. Use as much or as little milk as you prefer.

Peach Topping:

*This makes enough for 3 tarts

Ingredients:

  • 1 peach
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup chopped pistachios

Directions:

  1. Slice the peach into small slices.
  2. On medium/high heat- roast pistachios until light brown color- roasting nuts helps bring out the flavor. Set pistachios aside on a small plate.
  3. On medium heat, add butter and maple syrup. Stir until butter starts to melt.
  4. Add the peach slices.
  5. Cover with a lid- so steam helps break up the peaches faster.
  6. Stir occasionally and take off heat once peaches start to lose their elasticity.
Top sugar cookie tart with icing and the peach/pistachio topping- enjoy warm!

Callie, I wish I could be there with you! Lots of love from the ATL. Know I am very proud of you  : )

Leave a Reply

