Summer Chicken Skillet

So, I am attempting to run. This is a powerful first sentence, I know. But the most important word in this sentence is “attempting”. As most know, I am always trying new exercise routines, and as most also know… I fall off the bandwagon… quick. I have attempted to run, numerous times before- but this time, I am trying to stay determined. This determination also stems from a little count down till I am sitting on a beach… in a suit, with Mark and his family.

You know what I tell myself on my runs, “girl, why didn’t you start this a month earlier?!?”

I have been also trying to eat pretty light this week, considering my weekend in KC was a complete pig out. I have had this skillet dish pinned on my “Bon Appetit” board for months, and have been dying to try it. I mainly used it for heating inspiration, because I changed/added new ingredients. It was delish- and very light. Perfect for summer!

*I have a chicken belief- you either need to marinate your chicken for at least 2 hours before you cook it, or else you need to season heavy and this includes salt. Delicious chicken is created from marinating time or generous amounts of pepper, herbs, and salt if you need your meal on the table in under 30 minutes.*

Summer Chicken Skillet

adapted from Rosemary Garlic Chicken Skillet

Makes around 4 servings

Ingredients:

6 small red-skinned potatoes (halved or quartered)

Kosher salt

Black pepper

1 clove of garlic

½ tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp red pepper flakes

2 lemons

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

4 chicken breast thins

2 pieces of corn on the cob (halved)

8 pieces of asparagus

½ red union- rough chops

Directions:

1. Marinate your chicken for at least 2 hrs. My marinade included: 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, 1 tbsp Fustini’s Lemon infused EVOO (or 3 tbsp lemon juice + 1 tbsp EVOO), 1 tbsp herbs de provence, salt and pepper. Mix together in a large plastic bag and put back in the fridge.

2. Preheat the oven to 450. Cover the potatoes with cold water in a saucepan and salt the water. Bring to a boil over medium/high heat and cook until tender, about 10 minutes. I recommend testing 1 potato to make sure they are cooked through… you basically want to have these 98% cooked. Drain, and cut into preferred size.

3. Break corn cobs in half and place in boiling water for around 4-5 minutes. Drain and set aside.

4. Using a small cheese grater, grate the garlic to a paste form. Tranfser garlic paste to a large bowl and add: garlic powder, 2 teaspoons salt, the red pepper flakes the juice of 1 lemon and 1 tbsp EVOO. Save the juiced lemons and rough chop. Add the marinated chicken and turn to coat.

5. Heat a large cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken, it should only cook on each side for around 1-2 minutes because the breasts are so thin.

6. Remove chicken from pan; add the asparagus, chopped red onion, red potatoes, corn, and lemon quarters to the skillet. Place chicken on top and drizzle with any remaining marinade, remaining lemon juice, and 1 tbsp EVOO.

7. Transfer to the oven and roast, uncovered, until the chicken is cooked through- around 16-18 minutes.

I made this delicious meal… took a few quick bites to make sure it tasted as good as it looked. Then went and ran/walked (straight run + sprints for 15 minutes to be exact- which is huge for me- walked for another 20 minutes)… in 95 degree hot Atlanta weather, came back, and devoured my chicken skillet dish.

Cheers to running, it being summer, and color in your meals!

L.E.F.

Leave a Reply

