Strawberry, Mozzarella, and Arugula Grilled Cheese

I have to have background noise. I work out of my apartment and let me tell you, it is silent. So my noisey office friends become the TV or my pandora stations.

90% of the time, that background noise is the Food Network. Today it is the Glee soundtrack- yeah, I admit it… I love their versions of songs. Last week, I was plunking away on the computer working, and Giada was my background noise. I heard her talk about this sweet grilled cheese, so I turned my chair, and took a 5 minute break- to watch her make this delicious looking panini. I had to try it.

She used raspberries… I dared to be different, I manipulated the recipe and made my own strawberry jam- yeah, I went there.

I made this sandwich twice… first, to try it and make sure it was actually worth while- especially my jam. It was delicious. So I made it again, only to photograph… except, I ate another half of a sandwich- ugh, self control.

Giada added brown sugar on the top of the sandwich, I was a bit apprehensive… but I tried it- and BRAVO! to Giada for that combo! The brown sugar caramelized and tasted like a s’more, seriously…. highly recommend the brown sugar topping.

Strawberry Jam, Mozzarella, and Aruguala Grilled Cheese:

Adapted from Giada at Home

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat bread- sliced
  • Fresh mozzarella ball, drained and patted dry (I used two thin slices per grilled cheese)
  • 2 tbsp Strawberry Jam (or any jam of preference)
  • ¼ cup Arugula
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

(I spelled Mozzarella wrong… what a dodo bird)- My apologizes.

Directions:

  1. Preheat either your panini press, George Forman, or a frying pan (on medium/low heat). I used my George Forman grill- GT believed in her microwave, George Forman grill, and her toaster oven- I second her beliefs.
  2. Using a pastry brush (or the back of a spoon) brush the bread on both sides with a light coat of olive oil.
  3. Spread 1 side of the bread slice with the strawberry jam (or jam of preference).
  4. Place 2 slices of mozzarella on top of the bread slice with jam. Spread another layer of jam and top with arugula.
  5. Place the remaining slice of bread on top.
  6. Sprinkle the top of the bread with brown sugar- the olive oil will help the brown sugar stick.
  7. Place in the George Forman (or other heat source) for around 3 to 5 minutes until the cheese has melted and the bread is golden and crispy.
  8. Cut the sandwich in half, and serve warm.

Happy weekend!

L.E.F

Leave a Reply

