Father’s Day Pulled Pork Pancakes

I am unable to be home for Father’s Day… so Dad, this post, is for you:

As I am still very new to the “real world” life… I have learned to appreciate one thing- the sacrifice a parent gives to their children, especially a parent that also works full time. I started working full time last June. I would come home, sit on the couch, and fall asleep for two hours. I started to think about my parents, with three little girls. You come home, have active (crazy) girls, and you are the coach of their sports teams, so you change, and are off to coach… or off to a play… or off to a swim meet… or off to a Dave Matthew’s concert as a chaperone (yeah, he did that).

So where do you begin to thank that person whose name of Rich quickly became known as “Lauren’s Dad” or “Mr. Frey”? You make them virtual pulled pork pancakes and send a card? Obviously, not enough. But, today Dad, know how thankful I am for your sacrifice and your continued support. It took 23 years, but I am starting to see life through your eyes- and I am thankful for how you have guided me.

I promise I will make these for you when I come home next- because in the words of Guy Fieri, they are “killer”.

A few weeks ago, I was watching Diners, Drives, and Dives and Guy Fieri went to the Red Wagon Cafe in Vancouver. This restaurant was known for their pulled pork pancakes with Jack Daniels maple syrup. Excuse me? YUM! This chef just created a Brunner… Breakfast+Lunch+Dinner. I wanted to try these pancakes but, with my own flair. First, I don’t like Whiskey, and I was not going to buy a handle for 2 tablespoons worth in the maple syrup. Also, I was making these for my father, who drinks Stella. period.

So yesterday, I went to pick up some beer for the Brave’s game and stumbled upon their featured Apple and Ginger cider. Perfect. Apples and BBQ, a great combo… and the remaining 5 beers, would be consumed eventually.

I cheated with the pulled pork, I ran to Whole Foods and bought plain pulled pork and added my own BBQ sauce. I have never dabbled in grilling/smoking of meats, and today was not going to be the start… so I let Whole Food’s do the work for me.

Pulled Pork Pancakes

Inspired by: The Red Wagon Cafe

Pancakes Recipe:

Makes 7 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder (I like fluffy pancakes)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp melted butter

Directions:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients: flours, sugar, baking soda, powder, and cinnamon.
  2. Into the dry ingredients, add the wet ingredients: milk, egg, vanilla, butter, and lemon zest whisk until everything is incorporated.
  3. Either using a pancake griddle or a frying pan spray with nonstick cooking spray and set to medium heat.
  4. Using a ¼ cup measuring cup, pour the batter onto the heated griddle. Once the pancakes start to bubble, flip (about 3 minutes).

Apple Cider Maple Syrup:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp dark brown sugar
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp apple cider beer*
  • apple slices (optional)
  • ginger slices (optional)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Directions:

  1. In small sauce pan, on medium heat, combine: brown sugar and apple cider beer until brown sugar has melted.
  2. Add the maple syrup. lemon juice, and apple/ginger slices- bring to a boil and then bring heat down to low/simmer.

*I used cider beer, choose your poison- the Red Wagon Café uses Jack Daniels- personnel preference*

To Assemble:

Stack two pancakes, and add a large portion of pulled pork onto of the top pancake. Drizzle with the Apple Cider Maple Syrup. I let my pulled pork/syrup sit onto of the pancakes for a few minutes before serving, the pancakes then soaked up all the juices.

Enjoy!

L.E.F

Leave a Reply

