The All Y’All Burger + The Sandy Pelican Slider Contest

This past weekend I was in Hilton Head with Mark and his family. What a great time. It was beautiful weather Saturday and Sunday! The house we stayed in was HUGE but it was the company in the house, that made the trip so special.

Being in Atlanta and having my family so far away, I love spending time with other families- it makes me feel like I am home. This weekend was no different, Mark’s immediate and extended family were all on the vacation- they are truly lucky to have such respect and love for each other, and I loved every minute of the trip… especially….

The Sandy Pelican Slider Challenge.

Mark’s brother John is phenomenal in the kitchen- he uses big flavors and adds creative twists to his food. When Mark asked if I would be interested in cooking dinner one night for the family, I immediately started my recipe brain churning. I thought it would be fun to do a throw down/chopped style event against Mark and his brother John.

We had about an hour and half to complete our burgers, plate for 5 judges as well as have enough for 17 other people. It. Was. A. Rush. Seriously, I was out of breath, running around the kitchen… burning my biscuit buns (I went there with my buns), forgetting about patties, making cole slaw… it was great.

John made a Southern Burger with homemade fried onion toppings- delicious. Mark’s burger was a Hawaiian (ish theme), and my burger was a southern inspired burger.

I am honestly not a big burger person, because of the bun. It usually is huge and fills me up before I can get through the burger. With my burger, I wanted to try the biscuit bun route, it added a buttery texture and taste, but did not take over the burger. I did a twist on coleslaw and ranch dressing, creating a ranch coleslaw which had great flavor and worked perfectly with the biscuit. The burger was very tasty and it all complemented each other well… highly recommend.

The All Y’All Burger:

(Makes about 7 sliders)

Ranch Style Coleslaw:

  • 2 cups shredded cole slaw
  • ¾ cup red cabbage- thinly chopped
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • ½ cup light mayo
  • 2 tbsp ranch powder (more depending on taste)
  • 2 tbsp stone ground mustard
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp lemon pepper
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • pinch of salt for taste
  • 1/4 red pepper thinly chopped

Burger:

  • 1 pack of ground chuck
  • 3 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 garlic clove- minced
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tbsp beer (I used an IPA for the challenge and stout at home- both worked fine)
  • 1/4 tsp Cajun spices
  • salt
  • pepper

Buns:

Grands Southern Style Biscuits- cooked according to package.

Directions:

  1. Make the meat marinate. Combine ground chuck, garlic, spices, egg, beer, and worcestershire sauce in a medium bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hrs.
  2. Open the Grands Southern Style Biscuits- using a rolling pin, flatten each biscuit to stretch out the dough. I used a narrow glass as my cookie cutter, to cut the biscuit to a slider size.
  3. Bake the smaller biscuits according to the directions- about 15 minutes (until golden brown)
  4. Let biscuits cool.
  5. Make the Slaw: thinly slice the red cabbage- about ¼ of the head of cabbage, add to a medium sized bowl. Add shredded cole slaw, chopped red pepper, sour cream, mayo, white wine vinegar, mustard, and mix until well combined. Add spices and mix. Add salt depending on taste.
  6. Cook burgers according to your preference- I used my cast iron skillet, but if I had access to a charcoal grill, that would be perfect too. I added Munster and cheddar cheese to the top of my burger.
  7. Slice the biscuit in half, top with some lettuce, add the burger, and top with the Ranch Style Coleslaw.
  8. Serve immediately… and enjoy!

The competition was scored on creativity, taste, and presentation. The judges choose a burger from each category. Of the categories, I won in presentation. John won for taste (well deserved). The kids wanted to be apart of the challenge so we had another round of judges (ages from 9-15) and I won the younger pallets!

I highly recommend doing a slider challenge. It gets friends and family in the kitchen, it is such a great (and fun) bonding experience. Obviously it is in all good fun and both Mark and John were very supportive of my burgers!

L.E.F

One comment

  1. Love the cole slaw! Great combo of traditional slaw and Ranch!

Leave a Reply

