Summer Cuban Pasta

So… I don’t know what kind of music mood I am in currently, John Mayer wasn’t cutting it, my Avett Brother’s Pandora station was to chill… I needed my OC soundtracks from high school- which are buried somewhere in my sisters car. Thanks to the internet, I found a website that houses all the OC soundtracks and you can play them, FOR FREE. One word: holler. I am totally having a nostalgic night.

Now… this pasta, not so nostaligic. It is a million degrees outside… like so hot it is almost to hot to think about eating- but lets be serious, the world has to end for me to subconsciously skip a meal. I wanted to make something light yet incorporate all the great summer food choices! Ever since I went to Italy I have had a new fond appreciation for bacon’s much more classier (and flavorful) cousin, Prosciutto. I had a hunk of leftover mozzarella in my fridge, with a mix of green olives, tomatoes, corn, and arugula, this dish came into it’s own.

Last summer when I moved to Atlanta, I took a cooking class, in my quest of making friends. Let me tell you- a cooking class is not the place to do it. It was couple central.. no one goes to a cooking class, in hopes of making a best friend (apparently, except me)… so I came home friendless, but I did learn- that in the summer, Heirloom tomatoes are your friend. They are the tomatoes that are funny colors and shapes but don’t let their appearance fool you, they are delicious. They are the uniform wearing, catholic school girls of the tomatoes- not the most attractive during the day, but add some salt and pepper (makeup and a brush) and it is whole new tomato. Make them your friend this summer- they were a great edition to the pasta dish.

Summer Cuban Pasta

Inspired by:

Cooking Light, 2004

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 3/4 cups)

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • ½ packet Trader Joe’s liquid Chicken broth concentrate (about 1 tsp)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon stone ground mustard
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 cups uncooked mini pasta shells
  • ½ cup green olives- chopped
  • ½ cup chopped mozzarella
  • ½ cup chopped red heirloom tomatoes
  • 4 slices prosciutto- cooked until crunchy, and chopped
  • ½ corn on the cob
  • ½ cup Arugula

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl combine the olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, mustard, chicken broth concentrate, and sugar. Stirring well with a whisk and set aside.
  2. Cook pasta according to package direction- you want the pasta to be slightly al dente (I cooked mine for around 10 minutes). Drain and rinse with cold water.
  3. Chop the heirloom tomatoes, corn off the cob, mozzarella, green olives, and prosciutto.
  4. In a large bowl add pasta, chopped ingredients, arugula and top with sauce; toss well to coat. Can be served warm or cold.

L.E.F.

One comment

  1. […] (Heirloom Tomato- how pretty!) […]

Leave a Reply

