Lemon Loaf Cake

Do you ever have those days where you just think…. and think…. and think…. and drive yourself absolutely crazy because the one subject you were thinking about has now spiraled into deep dark subjects your brain never even thought about before? That was my weekend. I was just a brain of churning thoughts.

As I have stated before, I try to keep my professional life out of my blog life, but during business hours, I drive around as a sales rep, so I spend some serious quality time with me, myself, and I… and even on the road, all I do is think- and sing. It becomes a bit problematic at times- talk about queen bee of over thinking something.

So to get my mind off of thought this weekend… I got busy, I went and ran yesterday and you know what I did, (I can not belive I am admitting this…) I ran for 30 minutes straight, listening to Cashin Out by drum roll, Ca$h Out (clever?) on repeat… so by the 6th time, I started to think about highschool and how I used to somehow scam my way into driving my Dad’s black Yukon on the weekends. My friends would all pile in the Yukon and we would blast Big Tymers, “This is How We Do It” on our way to football games. I didn’t know what to be more embarrased about, the fact that I just listened to the same song 6 times? Or the fact that I actually drove a Buick Century Monday thru Friday to school, and Friday night I would show up in a black Yukon- pretending it was an Escalade? Oh problems…

(Antique Bottles)

Then today… I went antiquing. I found this great place up in Alpharetta (Queen of Hearts Antiques) and before I went, I established 2 ground rules with myself: “Lauren, you have to have a purpose for what you buy” 2. “Lauren, it has to be under $10”. Two cute floral saucers later (each $5.00), I had what my lemon cake would sit on for its big photo debut.

When I was in Chicago last weekend, my Mom let me keep GT’s Betty Crocker Cookbook (circa 1961). I have been scouring the pages and laughing at the pictures, the wording, the tips, it is all magical.

(Betty Crocker’s New Picture Cook Book- 1961 1st Edition)

Since the shrimp boil, I have had 4 extra lemons hanging around and buttermilk that needed to be used. So using one of Betty Crocker’s Lemon Cake recipes, I changed around a few things, and voila I am lemon and buttermilk less! It is a fun recipe and I recommend this loaf as an after dinner/desert loaf- not something I would eat at breakfast. (Read the directions from the original recipe, so nostalgic and a tad vague?)

(Lemon Loaf Cake, Original Recipe Page)

Lemon Loaf Cake:

Adapted from: Betty Crocker’s New Picture Cook Book- 1st Edition, 1961

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ cup sifted all purpose flour
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 5 egg yolks (unbeaten)
  • ¾ cup buttermilk (or regular milk)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • zest of ½ lemon

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grease a loaf pan, 9x 5.3”.
  3. Sift dry ingredients together into a stand mixer bowl- flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder.
  4. Add butter, vanilla, egg yolks, and milk until combined. Mix on medium speed.
  5. Add lemon zest and juice- combining mixture on medium speed.
  6. Pour batter into the greased pan.
  7. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes (mine took exactly 52 minutes)

Lemon Glaze

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. Mix ingredients together in a small glass bowl (I used my measuring Pyrex).
  2. Let stand on top of your oven while the cake is baking.
  3. Stir every 20 minutes
  4. When the cake is finished- remove from the pan and punch holes in the top of the cake with a fork and drizzle on the glaze.
I used Betty’s original directions for making this glaze, and at first, I will be honest, I thought she was crazy just sticking the bowl on top of the oven using the heat to melt the sugar… but it works!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! Happy Thoughts!

L.E.F.

Leave a Reply

