Stone Ground Mustard Vinaigrette

Moving to a new city makes you appreciate many things… but one in particular is visitors. A few months back, I told my Mom (and I stand by this statement) that I would give up all Christmas gifts, to have a visitor once a month for year. Visitors mean that much… it is a taste of home.

The morning a visitor is coming, is like the Christmas morning feeling I used to get when I still thought Santa was a jolly man that came through the chimney. I wake up at 6 am stoked. Today I have that feeling… I have a visitor coming tomorrow, my dad! And, two of my close friends from high school just booked flights to Atlanta the first weekend in October. YES!

(Heirloom Tomato– how pretty!)

At times, I tend to feel a bit out of my comfort zone being away from home (especially when I hear of my college friends, high school friends, and family all spending time together- I get a little jelly). So having family and friends, who are so much of home to me come and visit- is one of the best feelings! It also lets me show off my new home, and gives me a chance to have (what I call) a collision of my two worlds (aka: the best of both worlds)- “Hi, Atlanta life meet my family, meet my St. Joe friends, meet my Marquette friends, meet my St. Louis family and friends!” “How do you do Lauren’s out of town life!?”  Spectacular!

This salad is a collision, in its own way. It is a collision between Marks culinary skills and mine. Let’s just say, Mark’s culinary inspirations are Chef Boyardee, Tomb Stone, Mr. Jif, etc…. So this salad dressing is monumental in the skills of Mark. Although he doesn’t cook often, he does do the dishes when I cook… which I love! Thanks babe!

Mark introduced me to this salad dressing and it is now my go to for salads, on top of veggies, as marinate. It is delish! I honestly do not like yellow mustard, but yellow mustards nostalgic grandfather, stone ground mustard- I love. I imagine him to sit next to a fire, smoking a pipe, reading the paper, and drinking scotch… yes, this is mustard that I am fantasizing about, enough Lauren.

Treat your lettuce as fro yo… and top away. I personally like simple salads, less is best in my opinion. I used some summer heirloom tomatoes, toasted pistachios, parmesan, and homemade croutons. It is a light dinner option, or a great side alongside your main course!

Kuddos to Mark for introducing.

Marks Bomb.com Salad Dressing:

Ingredients:

  • Lemon juice (from ½ lemon)
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 heaping tbsp of stone mustard
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • salt and pepper for taste

Directions:

  1. Mix ingredients in your container of choice- I personally used a mason jar but I know Mark uses a cruet.
  2. This makes enough for about 4 salads. Double if necessary.
Leave a Reply

