Pomegranate, Ginger, and Lemon Cocktails

First, it is Thursday.

(Photo Shoot Set Up)

Second, that calls for cocktails.

Third, I may or may not have “tested”… and finished my cocktail at um, 3:55 p.m. — I mean, in London it is way past 5. (No judgement inserted here, right?)

(Glasses sans topper of Seccola)

(Seccola inserted into drink!)

Fourth, Last weekend- I went for a extremely long walk as a desperate cure for my extremely SLOW recovery from the Olympics Party– that lead me to Lenox Mall… why? But on the way, I stopped at Caribou Coffee for something to drink because it was honestly 110 degrees and my quest to sweat every last alcoholic beverage out of my body was making me extremely tired and thirsty. They were featuring a lemon, ginger, and pomegranate tea- but instead of still water, you had the option of sparkling water and ohhmmgee- it was divine.

So, I did what I had to do… I created a science experiment in my kitchen, and was tempted to use a GT favorite, and spike this sucker with gin… but I went easy on myself and used an Italian Sparkling Wine- my Mom’s new favorite cocktail.

It was delicious. I did also try it with sparkling water- and it was just as fantastic for a nonalcoholic version.

TGIF tomorrow- I am off to Kansas City to see Mark. I tend to start getting extremely antsy a few days before we see each other- which causes the fourth bullet point drama to get to my head (I am a self proclaimed nut). It is has been over 3 weeks since I have seen Mark, and I am ready for a relaxing weekend with him.

(Positive tea bag tops! Yogi Ginger Tea)

Pomegranate, Ginger, and Lemon Cocktails:

Inspiration: Caribou Coffee- Lemon, Ginger, Pomegranate Juice

Ingredients:

Ingredients:

  • Juice of 4 lemons
  • 2 cup ginger tea*
    • pinch of baking soda
    • 2 ginger tea bags
    • 1 small ginger root- peeled, and cut into slices
    • 2 cups water
    • 1 cup 100% pomegranate juice
  • ½ c simple syrup*
    • ½ cup sugar
    • ½ cup water
  • 1 bottle of Seccola  ($4 at Trader Joes) or other Prosecco of choice
    • Sparkling Water for nonalcoholic version

Directions: (ginger tea)

  1. Peel ginger root and cut into larger chunks- so the fragrance infuses the water- add to a medium saucepan.
  2. On medium heat, add 2 cups of water plus a pinch of baking soda (the baking soda cuts the bitterness of the tea) to the medium sauce pan and let boil.
  3. Once water is boiling, turn off heat and add tea bags- I personally used 2 bags.
  4. Let tea bags steep for 4 minutes
  5. Using a strainer (to catch ginger pieces) pour the tea mixture into a glass container (I used a Pyrex liquid measuring cup)- place in the fridge to cool.

Directions: (simple syrup)

Simple syrup is simply a 1:1 ratio of sugar to water- typically used in cocktails.

  1. Over medium heat combine ½ cup sugar and ½ cup water. Stir until sugar is melted.
  2. Take off heat.

Directions: (cocktail)

  1. Make the ginger tea first- I would let it sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Once you are ready to make the cocktails, make the simple syrup- set aside.
  3. In a pitcher combine the lemon juice, ginger tea, pomegranate juice, and simple syrup- stir to make sure all ingredients are incorporated.
  4. Fill a glass with ice, I liked a ¾: ¼ tea to alcohol ratio. Fill the glass with ¾ tea and ¼ of Seccola (or sparkling water for the virgin version).

L.E.F.

Leave a Reply

