Chicken Marsala (minus the Marsala) Pasta!

Well, where do I begin… I have been on a slight blogging sabbatical (ish). Life is moving crazy fast, and as my roommate pointed out, “its not like you aren’t make extremely elaborate meals- so… why haven’t you been blogging?”- so very true…. what have I been doing?

Fall Crafting: Candy Corn Banner and Melted Crayon Mini Pumpkins (I heart Pintrest)!

Working: Recycled Paper Goods for Target- how funny! : )

The other day the Today show was featuring a clip on foods that will prevent cancer…. so I stocked up. Asparagus, red onions, greens, and tomatoes. I was browsing around one of my many food blogs, Baked Bree and saw she had a Chicken Marsla Pasta recipe.

My only problem, I didn’t have marsala, a yellow onion, heavy cream or motivation to go to the grocery store. But, I did have asparagus, red onions, skim milk, and of course plenty wine… so I went about making my own version. And it was excellent. I had so much left overs, that I put about 1/2 cup of the pasta into mason jars, and have been reheating them for lunch this week.

It finally is starting to feel like fall in Atlanta- the leaves are slowly turning colors, and it is getting slightly cooler. This dish is so very fall! Bon Appetit!

Chicken Marsala (minus the Marsala) Pasta!

adapted from Baked Bree

Ingredients

  • 1 Tablespoons butter
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • ½ large red onion, chopped
  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • 10 asparagus stalks (chopped into bite size pieces)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • ¼ Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 pound pasta (I used butterfly style)
  • 2 cups arugula
  • ¼ cup pasta water*

Instructions- (Serves about 3)

  1. Cut the chicken into bite size pieces. Season with salt and pepper. Heat a saute pan to medium-high heat. Melt 1/2 tablespoon of butter. Add chicken and cook until browned and cooked through. I typically cook my chicken with cooking spray, but the small amount of butter truly enhances the flavor of the chicken.
  2. Take the chicken out of the pan, and put on a plate. Add the other half of the butter, and add onions, mushrooms, and asparagus. Cook until soft and brown, about 10 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another minute. Add the chicken back to pan.
  3. Bring a pot of water to a boil- cook pasta according to directions. When done, save ¼ cup of the pasta water for the sauce.*
  4. Add flour (to thicken the sauce because I cut the fat choosing to use skim milk), skim milk, white wine, and chicken stock. Sprinkle with salt and pepper for flavoring. Bring sauce to a boil, and simmer until it begins to thicken (takes a few minutes!). Add the ¼ cup pasta water and cooked pasta to the sauce.
  5. I then added the Parmesan and arugula to the pasta, and stir- the arugula will start to wilt.
  6. Enjoy!

(Fall flower arrangement- c/o Mark!)

Leave a Reply

