Fall Chicken + Acorn Squash

So here in Atlanta, it feels like fall at 8 am and then again at 8 pm- in between, it feels like summer. I love this weather come the winter, but in the fall, I do miss Milwaukee- the leaves would change colors, sweaters and scarfs would be a must to walk to class, and I would find myself taking the long way to meet Mark (wearing a flannel) at Starbucks, to walk down Wisconsin Ave together with a coffee and admiring the different leaves.

(My homemade salt and pepper shakers- Used jam jars turned salt and pepper shakers!)

Today, I made my apartment smell like fall. I bought an acorn squash this weekend, my roommate has been cooking spaghetti and butternut squash, so I jumped on the bandwagon! I made a simple chicken dish, and roasted the acorn squash. I will be honest, it is pretty boring by itself… with the chicken, it was much tastier! I recommend at least trying it and hey, I found this fun fact about acorn squash, “acorn squash contains phytonutrients, which is thought by many to have an anti-cancer effect.” Sold.

My last word of advice… start using greek yogurt instead of sour cream. It has less fat, and still provides a creamy texture to dishes- I converted, you should too : ) Your waist will thank you!

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast- cut into bite size chunks
  • ½ tbsp butter
  • 1 Acorn squash
  • olive oil- 2-3 tbsps
  • ¼ cup Chicken Stock
  • ¼ cup Greek Yogurt (or sour cream)
  • ¼ cup Pumpkin puree
  • 3 tablespoons skim milk
  • ¼ cup finely diced red peppers
  • salt/pepper
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp African Smoke Spice (from Trader Joes) or BBQ

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cut the acorn squash in half- remove seeds and slice into ½ inch rings- season with salt, pepper, and lightly drizzle with olive oil.
  3. Put the acorn squash on a baking sheet and bake for about 30 minutes, till the meat of the squash is fully cooked (you can slide a fork in and it goes through without any friction). You can also cook in the microwave if you are in a bit of a time crunch.
  4. After the squash has been in the oven for about 15 minutes, put a frying pan on medium heat, add ½ tbsp butter till melted.
  5. Add chicken chunks and cook till golden brown and fully cooked.
  6. Remove chicken to the side, and using the same frying pan add the chicken stock, pumpkin puree, skim milk, and greek yogurt. Add salt, pepper, smoke spice, and nutmeg. Stir till combined and starts bubbling.
  7. Add the chicken back into the frying pan. Set on low heat.
  8. I personally went carb free with this meal, but it would be great sitting on pasta. I used lettuce, added the chicken, and 2 acorn squash rings. Do not eat the acorn squash skin- the green part. The skin will remove easily.

L.E.F.

Leave a Reply

