Pumpkin Bread Pudding

It finally feels like fall in Atlanta! I think the Southerns get robbed of fall, well maybe not robbed- but fall in the south happens in December, when it should be winter. So the folks of the south are sipping pumpkin spice lattes in December, when the midwesterners are sipping peppermint lattes! Now, I am not complaining… just stating a difference and totally enjoy this sudden weather change.

(Fall in NYC- When Harry Met Sally)

Also, I totally use the word “folks” now. My boss sends emails and refers to a group, or a single person as “folks”- I love it. Since I still can’t get myself to say “y’all”… I feel like a poser, I am stealing his folks term. When I text my cute southern friends, I either type out “what are YOU ALL doing” or “what are YOU GUYS doing”… can’t say y’all… doesn’t feel right.

Last tidbit… the ladies of apartment 315 are pumpkin cra cra. Chelsea made this delicious pumpkin bread recipe (kuddos Chels!) on Friday night- pumpkin and dark chocolate chips, and Sex and the City- epic. I then in turn made pumpkin bread pudding on Saturday morning. I LOVE pumpkin, I was inspired by Chelsea, and I needed to use the hamburger buns I bought when Mark was in town.

Bread pudding… I came, I saw, and I still have tons of left overs for the remaining of the week. Enjoy the pumpkin, enjoy this glorious fall season, and East coasters- stay warm, dry, and safe.

(Meg, GT, and I- Fall in Chicago- the caption of this photo was “don’t you just love Chicago in the fall”- yes, and miss that special lady in the center)

Bon appetite!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding

Adapted by The Yummy Life

Ingredients:

  • About 5 cups, 1 inch cubes, day old bread (I honestly used 2 large bakery hamburger buns), Challah bread would work, as well as French bread, croissants, etc…
  • 3 large eggs
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup pure canned pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice (I LOVE this spice- so I use extra!)- I also make my own, Thanks Annie Eats!
  • 1 cup coffee creamer Coffee Mate Natural Bliss Vanilla*
  • 1 ½ cup skim milk
  • ½ cup chopped pecans

*I used coffee creamer because I did not have half and half, and did not want to run to the grocery store- the coffee creamer worked swimmingly and was low calorie- I did not taste a difference. It is about getting crafty with what you have! : )

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Coat a cake pan with cooking spray (a 8×8 pyrex would work just fine too!)
  3. Add cubes of bread to the pan along with chopped pecans.
  4. In a medium bowl, beat eggs- add sugars, salt, vanilla, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and milks- whisk together until combined.
  5. Pour liquid mixture over bread cubes- lightly pat down any bread crumbs that are not submerged in the mixture.
  6. *You can cover and refrigerate over night if you want extra spongey and delish bread pudding- I will be honest, I just stuck mine right in the oven!
  7. Cover the pan with foil and cook for 1 hr.
  8. Pull the foil off, and test with a fork (or knife)- stick in the center of the pudding, if chunks of residue come off, continue to cook for increments of 10 minutes without the foil (checking till only a few crumbs stay on your knife).
  9. I have been eating this for breakfast with a drizzle of maple syrup- if you are going the desert route, I would drizzle with honey and add a dollop of vanilla bean ice cream!

 

L.E.F

Leave a Reply

